About  »  Directorate  »  Independent non-executive directors

Non-executive director

Brian Joffe (69)
Appointed: March 1  1989.
Since founding Bid Corporation in 1988, Brian served as executive chairman until his appointment as chief executive in 2004. Brian stepped down as CEO and was appointed as non-executive director on May 23 2016. He has over 33 years of South African and international commercial experience. Brian was one of the Sunday Times’ top five businessmen in 1992 and is a past recipient of the Jewish Business Achiever of the Year award, was listed as one of the top 100 Africans of the Year in the Africa Almanac in 2001, was voted South Africa’s Top Manager of the Year in 2002 in the Corporate Research Foundation’s publication “South Africa’s Leading Managers”. Brian represented South Africa at the coveted “Ernst & Young World Entrepreneur of the Year” awards in 2003, was voted the Sunday Times’ Businessman of the Year in 2007, and awarded an honorary doctorate in May 2008 by Unisa. In 2010 Brian was selected by Wits Business School Journal as one of South Africa’s top 25 business leaders. In 2011 he was awarded the Life Time Achiever award (Sunday Times Business Times), having made a significant impact on business in South Africa. In 2016 Brian received an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Witwatersrand. Listed by Forbes Magazine as one of the 20 most powerful people in African business. Brian is currently appointed vice-chairman of the board of Adcock Ingram previously chairman (2014-2015) and was previously chairman of Bidvest Namibia (resigned in 2014). In 2016 Brian was appointed the executive chairman of Bid Corporation Limited.

Independent non-executive directors

Douglas Denoon Balharrie Band (72)
B.Com CA(SA)
Appointed: October 27  2003
Doug has extensive experience in both commerce and industry and has served in the chief executive position in 3 blue-chip listed companies. Over a period of 20 years he has also served an independent non-executive director on the boards of a number of prominent South African Companies. He was recently appointed as an independent non-executive director of Bid Corporation Limited.
Eric Kevin Diack (59)
CA(SA), AMP Harvard
Appointed: April 20  2012
Eric has extensive experience of the South African industrial and mining landscape. He has been integral to the negotiation and successful conclusion of a multitude of transactions during his corporate and entrepreneurial career. Eric has served on numerous major listed company boards, namely: AMIC, AECI, ArcelorMittal, Daewoo, Dorbyl, Haggie, Highveld Steel, LTA, McCarthy’s, Terra and Tongaat. Eric is a director on the boards of Aveng Limited, Bidvest Bank Limited, Bidvest Bank Holdings Limited, McConnell Dowell Limited and Vast Resources Plc. Eric is chairman of the audit committee of Bidvest Bank.
Alexander Komape Maditsi (53)
BProc, LLB (Wits), LLM (Pennsylvania),
LLM (Harward), Dip Company Law (Wits)
Appointed: April 20  2012
Alex is the current franchise director for Coca-Cola Southern and Eastern Africa. Alex has held various positions in Coca-Cola over the past 15 years. Alex has held various legal positions in companies in both South Africa and the United States.
Sibongile (Bongi) Masinga (49)
BCom, USA-SA Leadership and
Entrepreneurship Programme
(Wharton School of Business)
Appointed: December 4  2013
Bongi is one of the founding members of the Afropulse Group. Prior to this she was the chief operating officer and head of Corporate Advisory at Quartile Capital. She has held various positions in financial services (including at DBSA and Gensec). She also gained merchant banking experience with Hill Samuel in London. She currently serves on the following boards: Regent Insurance and Regent Life Assurance, Averda South Africa and National Student Financial Aid Scheme. She also sits on applicable subcommittees. Bongi was a non-executive director of Mvelaserve Limited prior to the purchase of Mvelaserve by Bidvest.
Nigel George Payne (56)
Appointed: June 28  2006
Director of companies, including the JSE Limited, Mr Price Group Limited (chairman), Vukile Property Fund Limited and BSi Steel Limited and is chairman of Bidvest Bank Limited. In 2016 Nigel was appointed independent non-executive director of Bid Corporation Limited.
Tania Slabbert (49)
Appointed: August 20  2007
Tania is a co-founder and non-executive director of WDB Investment Holdings and previously served as its CEO for 12 years. She also serves as a non-executive director on the board of Caxton, is a Trustee of the BPSA Education Foundation and is the Chairman of the WDB Seed Fund. Her previous directorships include Discovery, BP South Africa, Rennies Travel, National Small Business Development Council and the Lilliesleaf Trust.